Mineral Economics Award

Distinguished contributions in the advancement of mineral economics.


Award Recipients

Please select an award recipient below for more information.

2014 - Graham A. Davis

Graham A. Davis is Professor of Economics and Business at the Colorado School of Mines, where he has taught and researched mineral economics for 20 years. He holds a B.S. in Metallurgical Engineering from Queen's University, an MBA from the University of Cape Town, and a Ph.D. in Mineral Economics from the Pennsylvania State University. Prior to joining academia Graham worked as a metallurgical engineer at mines in Canada and Namibia. His research focuses on the valuation of mineral and energy assets under uncertainty, and on the impacts of mining on economic and human development. He serves on the editorial board of Resources Policy, an international journal devoted to minerals policy and economics.

Graham been a member of the Society for Mining, Metallurgy, and Exploration for over 30 years, where he is now a Registered Member. He is also a Fellow of the Australasian Institute of Mining & Metallurgy. Industry frequently requests his advice on a wide variety of property valuation issues, and he has considerable experience as an expert witness in litigation relating to mine property valuations. Past research assignments have included working with UNIDO on development strategies for Mongolia, conducting an analysis of global mineral trade patterns for the World Trade Organization, and developing mining strategies in Central America with the Inter-American Development Bank. In the development field he is best known for his empirical work questioning the existence of a Resource Curse.

Presenter (on left) is Dale A. Heinz, AIME President

About The Mineral Economics Award:

The Mineral Economics Award was established in 1965 and is given for distinguished contributions in the advancement of mineral economics.

2013 - Roussos Dimitrakopolous
2012 - Franklin J. Stermole
2011 - Phillip Crowson